Christmas Farmers’ Market

islington farmers' market

December 18th, 2011

I’ve been to Islington Farmers’ Market this morning for some Christmas provisions. I was expecting a very busy day, but it was no more crowded than an ordinary week – I suppose a lot of people were doing Christmas present shopping.

tarts

Aside from the normal weekly stalls, selling things like delicious French Tarts,

turkey

there were the obvious turkeys

christmas fish

and Christmas fish!

mushroom log and mistletoe

There was a man selling mushroom spore impregnated logs (you can find them easily online) – which sounds interesting as long as the mushrooms grow. He also had some seasonal mistletoe, which in pre Christian times, was considered symbolic of divine male essence and fertility!

venison kidneys

I was particularly interested in the South Downs Venison and Game stall, selling wild venison kidneys with suet. I inquired if they’d be selling these after Christmas and got a favourable response – I’ll have to buy some!

mince pies

The Popina Mince Pies looked very pretty, though I resisted because I’ll be making some myself.

perry court farm

I bought my usual vegetables from Martin of Perry Court Farm. They have a spectacular range of apples and, amazingly, still a few tomatoes because of the mild autumn and winter.

hot chestnuts

The hot chocolate and roasted chestnut stall isn’t really part of the Farmers’ Market, but the look of it did make me feel quite Christmasy.

Islington Farmers’ Market is in: Chapel Market, Islington, N1 9PZ, on Sundays from 10.00 – 14.00.

This week some of the farmers will be back on Friday 23rd December for last minute Christmas food shopping from 09.00 – 12.00. I’m grateful that Perry Court will be one of those farms attending.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Fish, Food, Game, Meat, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Christmas Farmers’ Market

  1. Karen says:

    The Christmas markets inspire us and furnish us with such a variety of items for a wonderful meal.

  2. Now I´m feeling all nostalgic again. Good thing my parents arrived today 🙂 Those mushroom logs must be similar to our alpacas. And now you´ve reminded me to go for a long walk this week and pick mistletoe!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Well if it’s any consolation, I wish I was in Spain 😉 I was thinking about those logs when you posted about your home grown mushrooms the other day. I’m sure you are going to have a fantastic Christmas!

  3. Pingback: Pheasant with Chorizo and Pimentón | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  4. Pingback: Roast Pork Belly | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  5. Pingback: Joanet (revisited) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  6. Pingback: Asparagus with Hollandaise Sauce | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  7. Pingback: Kohlrabi | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  8. Pingback: Wild Rabbit (roasted) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  9. Pingback: Cumberland Barbecue | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  10. Pingback: Asparagus – griddled | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  11. Pingback: Rabbit Barbecue | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  12. Pingback: Jugged Hare | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  13. Pingback: Abergavenny Food Festival 2014 (Sunday) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  14. Pingback: Lepre in Porchetta | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  15. Pingback: Wood Pigeon (roasted) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  16. Pingback: Goose and Rabbit Pie | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.