Snow Cake

snow cake

November 25th, 2010

I had tea at Tate Britain yesterday with my friend Katie – actually I had cappuccino since I needed a pick up, though I remain ever faithful to Barry’s Tea .

I don’t like sweet things, but I loved the look of the snow drop cupcake. I had to buy it in order to photograph it! I was pleasantly surprised when the top was creamy, as opposed to a solid lump of hard sugar.

Addendum: A friend sent me an email asking about mushroom picking, since mushrooms do grow in winter. She mentioned that she’d seen fly agaric growing on Hampstead Heath. With the current cold weather and talk of snow, the mention of fly agaric reminded me of an interesting, anthropological theory about the origin of Father Christmas coming from fly agaric and reindeer. I found it quite interesting, you can read about it here. Which does lead me to wonder if I was subliminally reminded of fly agaric by the cupcake?

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow Cake

  1. Audrey says:

    Funny you should say that .. I went to Tate Britain this week also , and the most amazing piece of art I saw was the Fish Cakes which were selling at £7.00 each . That has got to be Tuna Prize for sheer audacity . The cappucino was reasonably priced at £2.00 , so I was with you on that one …. but c’mon Mad Dog whats wiv da cup cakes…

  2. Audrey says:

    Oh yes… I see it all now … they look a little like Fly Agaric….did you see the Rain Deer or is that a Muy Bridge too far…

Leave a Reply

