Spaghetti Bolognese

spaghetti bolognese

January 14th, 2011

Alena cooked spaghetti Bolognese for lunch today. It was thick and concentrated – in the traditional style, not like the usual soupy mixture you get in Britain. According to the authentic Italian recipe, it should contain beef skirt, pancetta, carrot, cellery, onion, tomato sauce (not ketchup), milk, wine and salt and pepper to taste. All cooked very slowly on a low heat.

bolognese sauce

Breaking from tradition, I noticed that Alena added lots of garlic to her recipe, something Heston Blumenthal would agree with – me too, for that matter, I add garlic to almost everything. It’s claimed that garlic alleviates, high blood pressure and cholesterol, is good for your heart and even cures cancer! It definitely contains high quantities of vitamin C, so it helps keep colds away, not to mention scurvy. I’m probably a bit weird, but I find women who smell of garlic, quite sexy.

The Bolognese sauce was served with De Cecco spaghetti – the best pasta I’ve ever had outside of Italy and of course it was served al dente, with lots of grated parmesan.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Eating Out, Meat and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spaghetti Bolognese

  1. rick sareen says:

    Down at Bumblebee along the road from you, they sell brown rice pasta. Sounds awful but is worth a look.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve had rice pasta, I once had a girlfriend who was wheat intolerant. It’s not nearly as bad as it sounds, though I wouldn’t swap it for Durum wheat.

    The Bumblebee is a cool group of whole food shops on Brecknock Road, N7 0DD.

  3. William Rose says:

    Tasty looking recipe. Made me hungry!

  4. Pingback: Happy Chicken | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.