The Junction Tavern

the junction tavern

May 28th 2011

I can remember the Junction Tavern when it was covered in ivy and all the customers were over 65. I admit going there once or twice, because it did a Sunday roast for about £2.50 – and no, not 20 years ago, the old Junction closed in 2001. The new version of the Junction opened not long afterwards as a gastro pub and for a while was the best place to eat in NW5. It has since been eclipsed by the Bull and Last, but the Junction does do very good bistro food and normally has a free table. It also has a reasonable sized, semi covered garden, which keeps the smokers happy.

bavette steak

On Friday I had lunch at the Junction with Su. We both ate bavette steak with chips, spinach and allioli. Bavette steak comes from the flank of the animal, it’s not the prettiest looking steak, but it does have very good flavour. This steak can become tough if grilled/fried for a log time and is therefore best cooked rare. The allioli was a quite mild for my taste, but not everyone wants huge quantities of garlic in everything. I washed my meal down with a very good Rioja.

cheese

I didn’t fancy desert much, but I’ve always got room for cheese. I particularly liked the Bath Blue and the cheddar from Greens of Glastonbury. They were very generous with the cheese and the biscuits – I wish more restaurants would follow their example!

I recommend the beer battered fish (the type depends on what’s available) – I’ve had it a few times. The accompanying tartar sauce is also very good.

The staff are always very friendly and helpful.

The Junction Tavern is at 101 Fortess Road, NW5 1AG Google Map

Square Meal

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Eating Out, Fish, Meat, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

