The Garden Gate

the garden gate

7th July 2011

I had lunch yesterday with Olivia, at the Garden Gate on the south east corner of Hampstead Heath. I’ve been going past this pub for 30 years or so and barely even noticed it existed.

squid

We ordered from the two course – £10 pix fixe menu, which offered good value. I ordered salt and pepper squid, with lime mayonnaise starter, which was good, though when Olivia’s tomato and chive soup (soup of the day) arrived,

soup

I was jealous because it looked really good!

trout salad

We both ordered the smoked trout, egg and chicory salad with mustard vinaigrette as our main course and it was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the combination of trout, chicory, tomato and vinaigrette – it made me think I should eat more chicory. Olivia had a side order of chips, which proved to be very good too.

I was very pleased with the quality and quantity of the food and the pub had a good selection of, well looked after, real ale on tap. I’ll definitely go back.

The Garden Gate is at 14 South End Road, NW3 2QE Google Map

Square Meal

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

