Faux Carbonara

faux carbonara

January 1st 2012

This faux carbonara is made of leftovers. I had some duck, ham, stuffing and crème fraîche that needed using up and I fancied something creamy with pasta. This isn’t a real carbonara – see my recipe here for something a bit more authentic.

Faux Carbonara recipe:

1/2 lb of duck (chopped)
1/2 lb of ham (chopped)
1/2 lb of home made stuffing (chopped)
1 large onion (chopped)
6 pieces of garlic (finely chopped)
8 oz crème fraîche
1/2 pint of chicken stock
a splash of dry vermouth
ground herbs – a few sprigs of rosemary, sage, thyme, salt and black peppercorns, ground with a mortar and pestle
2 bay leaves
extra virgin olive oil for frying

duck, ham and stuffing with cream

Fry the onion until soft, then stir in the garlic, followed by the meat and stuffing. Mix in the crème fraîche, chicken stock and herbs. Allow the liquid to reduce until you have a thick creamy consistency. A little splash of vermouth towards the end adds an extra zing.

I did wonder about including the stuffing, but reasoned that the ingredients should be compatible – fortunately it turned out to be true and the end result was excellent! Serve with spaghetti or most other types of pasta. I imagine this would also work well with turkey.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Food, Meat, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Faux Carbonara

  1. That looks like the perfect foil for my new year’s hangover.

  2. On the verge of a mess of potage – but my guess is, pretty damn good. Happy New Year

  3. Am I allowed to say that I think I´d prefer the Faux to the Real Thing?! I like my pasta saucy! Looks wonderful and with duck and ham…..mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

