Argentinian Sausages

argentinian sausages

January 14th, 2012

I had an email earlier in the week from Marek the Butcher. He was experimenting with sausage recipes and wondered if I’d like to try his new Argentinian style sausages – of course I said yes!

beef and pork

The sausages were made with coarsely ground beef and pork, plus bacon, nutmeg, white pepper and sweet paprika. I believe that the nutmeg is quite a key ingredient in Argentinian sausages. Normally I don’t notice the smell of raw sausages much, but these had quite a pleasant aroma – particularly of wine and paprika. It definitely made me want to cook them.

sizzlers

The sausages fried well and they went a good brown colour. I cooked them in some garlic and rosemary infused olive oil and served them with mashed potato, cauliflower and carrots. I mixed the juices with a little red wine, balsamic vinegar, vegetable stock and butter to make a sauce.

I’d definitely buy these sausages – they look, smell and taste great, with a solid meaty texture (like that of a Toulouse or Napoli sausage).

Marek the Butcher is currently working at Theobalds and is looking for a new venue to host his masterclasses in butchery.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Meat, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Argentinian Sausages

  1. They look like they’d be fantastic with some chimichurri drizzled over the top!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    One of the good things about living in a large metropolitan area is the availability of items from a number of different cuisines. I’ve seen — and bought — Hungarian, Greek, Italian, and Polish sausages at various butcher shops, all made on-site. The sausages you’ve described sound good enough that I’m going to try to locate a butcher that, if not Argentine, features Argentine meat products. Thanks for pointing me in that direction.

  3. They sound excellent. I heartily dislike the English sausage with all its bread content, and I’m now used to Toulouse sausages which I shall be cooking with lentils today.

  4. peasepudding says:

    They look amazing, I make my own a lot these days after living in Germany for many years I too don’t like sausage with wheat fillers.

  5. I love properly made sausages and I know I´d love to try these! Big Man´s dad was born in Argentina, so he goes all misty eyed any time we come across an Argentine product (even though he´s never been there). And finally, I was in love with a boy called Marek in my primary school aged about 8 or 9. it was unrequited, of course, but the pain is still there 😉

    • Mad Dog says:

      I’d forgotten about Big Man’s Argentine background. That’s very sad about your unrequited love – I always told the girls when I was little and they seemed to like it. Sadly it didn’t work nearly as well when I got older.

  6. Ah, am feeling all sad for you. May have to get my matchmaking hat on…..!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Don’t worry about it – I’ve transferred all my emotions to cooking,
      a bit like “Como Agua Para Chocolate”, but without the tears 😉

  7. Oh, I’d buy those sausages too…actually they look rather like some of the Spanish ones we can buy here, and they look delicious!

Leave a Reply

