Kona Coffee

kona coffee

February 2nd, 2012

Rabina brought me back some Kona coffee from a trip to Hawaii. It’s one of the most expensive coffees in the world and although it’s grown from arabica beans (commonly grown throughout the world), the complex micro climate of the Hawaiian region of Kona gives the coffee a distinct and original taste. The first coffee plant was brought from Brazil to the Kona region in 1828 by and English merchant, Samuel Ruggles.

kona beans

Kona coffee is hand picked, fermented and washed. It’s mellow, but at the same time full bodied and clean tasting with flowery notes.

100% kona

As Kona coffee is quite expensive, some retailers sell blends which can contain as much as 90% cheaper imported beans, without having to specify what the mixture contains. Bags of Kona coffee should contain 100% Kona beans in order to be authentic.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kona Coffee

  1. Have never head of this and when I saw the title I thought you were going to talk about those coffee machines we all had in the 80s! How exciting – will have to keep an eye out for this. The most memorable coffee I ever had was in Bali – ground to a very fine powder they make it with hot water in the same way instant coffee is made up, then stirred so that most of the dregs sink to the bottom but you drink the coffee through the grouts. Sounds vile, and it takes a bit of getting used to but my…the taste! Have never managed to find the same coffee anywhere and the supply I bought back ran out a long, lomg time ago sadly.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    That’s a nice gift! I’ve enjoyed Kona coffee and you’re right to be cautious when buying it. Unless the label indicates “100% Kona”, don’t pay the high price to purchase it.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Apparently there has been some scandal with regard to fake Kona coffee – someone in Berkeley was sued for selling Central American beans as Kona beans.

  3. Hi MD!
    My friend at the coffee shop where I buy all my coffee gave me like 150 grams of Kona coffee a couple of months ago and it was delicious. She gave it to me because I told her about a blog post I’d read with a recipe for Kona coffee macarons. I didn’t make those, but if you are willing to “sacrifice” some of those beans, I bet they are delicious. Here’s the link:
    http://ailovebaking.com/2011/09/21/100-pure-kona-coffee-a-tribute-to-my-heritage-and-my-family/

  4. rutheh says:

    Cool header, Mad Dog!

Leave a Reply

