Galtas de Ternera

galtas de ternera

April 19th, 2012

After a day of printing and picture hanging, Oli cooked Galtas de Ternera (beef cheeks). The recipe here differs considerably to mine – these were cooked with onions, cardamom pods, coriander seeds, cumin and a pungent curry powder that had been brought back from India by a friend (it smelled considerably fresher and more flagrant than the types one can buy in Britain). The above 6 cheeks were cooked slowly on the stove top for about 3 hours.

Beef cheeks are one of those cuts of meat that’s not very popular in Britain these days, but with long slow cooking they’ll produce a delicious and comforting stew or casserole. They are spectacularly cheap in Barcelona’s Boqueria market.

Serve with spinach and mashed celeriac or potatoes.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Food, Meat, Recipes, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Galtas de Ternera

  1. I eat so little meat nowadays, but I still love joues de boeuf when it appears on the workmans’ menu. The curry powder is new one on me, but probably delicious from the sound of its provenance.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    You’re having my kind of trip. Each meal looks incredible, MD, just as I remember. I “discovered” a new market yesterday with full-service seafood & meat departments. Next time I go back, I’ll be asking about beef cheeks. How they answer my question will say a lot about them.

  3. peasepudding says:

    I like beef cheeks but they are a little overpriced and trendy here at the moment. Sounds like you have had some great food travels in Spain too lately.

  4. It would have to be pork cheeks here but it sounds amazing. Good old Oli!

    • Mad Dog says:

      That’s quite amazing that you don’t get much beef near you. I went to buy pork belly in the Boqueria and it was hard to find a pork butcher amongst the large quantities of beef butchers. I was quite surprised, but did eventually find the most charming and smiley pork butcher lady 😉

  5. zestybeandog says:

    Amazing! Also if this isn’t a “Man Meal” I don’t know what is, my husband would LOVE this!

  6. Pingback: Rooftop Barbecue | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  7. Pingback: Big Breakfast | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

