Elisabets

elisabets

April 25th, 2012

On my last day in Barcelona, I had lunch with Oli and Dorian in Elisabets, a small restaurant bar in the corner of Barrio Chino (close to Plaça Cataluña).

menu

I’ve been here before – they do a very good lunchtime menu for 10.85 €.

elisabets interior

Elisabets has a long thin bar at the front, with tables laid out for lunch at the back. They have a large collection of old valve radios on shelves throughout the bar/restaurant area.

I was highly amused when Dorian asked about the vegetarian options on the menu – the waitress pulled a very sour face and said that there were a couple of options without meat, if he liked that kind of thing! This isn’t an unusual response – older people in Barcelona remember a time, under Franco’s regime, when there wasn’t enough food to go round. In those days meat was such a luxury that one couldn’t turn it down. Times have changed considerably though and these days there are young Spanish vegetarians – lately a few vegetarian restaurants have opened up too.

canelones gratinados

I ordered the canelones gratinados – cannelloni stuffed with a meat sauce, covered with béchamel an baked in the oven. They were excellent!

albondigas caseras en salsa

As my main course I ordered albondigas caseras en salsa – home made meatballs in sauce.   The sauce and meatballs were deliciously rich, I believe they were pork but they could have had beef mixed in there too.

mel i mato

Finally I had mel i mato – one of my Catalan favourites, a ricotta type cheese drizzled with honey. I don’t  think you can go wrong with this pudding.

I thoroughly recommend Elisabets, it’s a genuine old school Catalan bar and restaurant, serving hearty food. My lunch came with a chilled half bottle of vi negre (red wine). Beware, the menu is in Catalan and they don’t speak English. By the end of the meal I was ready for a little sleep on the plane back to England…

Elisabets is at: C/ Elisabets 2 – 4, 08001, Barcelona

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Food, Meat, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Elisabets

  1. Once again I’m amazed at the meals you can get for that price in Barcelona, which is in effect a capital city. And once again it all looks wonderful. You must have been sorry to leave!

    • Mad Dog says:

      I do remember that when I lived in Paris one could buy a 3 course menu for about 80 – 90 F, though someone told me recently that the tradition has died out.
      I do definitely miss Barcelona – I always feel at home there.

  2. Great food again! Am I missing out in France? 🙂

    • Mad Dog says:

      You might be missing out on the 10 € menus but you are also in a country where food is very important. The markets in France can be amazing… and even the supermarkets (though they worry me since I can see them taking all the business away from the old fashioned markets). Otherwise, you are probably just a train ride away from Spain 😉

  3. There’s a little restaurant like that in the middle of Niort covered market.The vegetarian request would have been with the same response there! Lovely lunch which you won’t find in London for a similar price – or maybe you can nowadays.

    • Mad Dog says:

      The menu was definitely a standard thing in France and I wouldn’t be surprised if it originated there. There are a few places offering menus now in London (probably down to the economy at present), but so far I haven’t been anywhere that that lives up to Barcelona…

  4. rutheh says:

    I have to go to Barcelona and dine!!

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    You’ve missed your calling, MD. You should be working for the Barcelona Restaurant Assoc., authoring the guidebook “Where to Lunch in Barcelona”. The only problem would be that you couldn’t charge more than 15 €.

  6. ¡Buenísimo! Tengo que pensar en algunos buenos lugares en Madrid para cuando te pases por aquí… Unos que compitan con los catalanes 😉

  7. I agree with Chgo John – can´t you approach the Rough Guide people I am sure they´d love your input to something like a food guide! Love the ricotta with honey, gorgeous! Hope you have settled back well to London life 😉

  8. ceciliag says:

    I have always thought that only the well off and comfortable have the option to be vegetarians. Most of the world would see this as an affectation when their own diets are determined by poverty. I am dutifully passing these posts on to my son who is going through barcelona later in the year, he already knows your rule about eating at the good places at lunchtime!! I have drilled it into his brain! c

    • Mad Dog says:

      I think you are right. I hope your son has a good time – he’ll definitely have good food if he visits the places I’ve mentioned 😉

Leave a Reply

