Klobásy Sausages

klobásy

May 25th 2012

Marek the Butcher made a new batch of sausages this week – Klobásy, from Slovakia. Klobásy are made with pork, paprika and caraway seeds – they are a very popular sausage in Eastern Europe and you’ll find them with slightly differing names in the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, etc. I believe that klobásy is the Czech and Slovak word for sausage.

frying

I just read a highly amusing and I’m sure fictional comment, regarding sausage stands in Wenceslas Square (Prague), where St. Wenceslas is referred to as “The patron saint of the klobása”. The blog page is worth a look, just to see the variety of klobása available in Prague.

cut sausage

I fried the sausages in garlic and rosemary infused olive oil for about 15 – 20 minutes. The klobásy had a strong smokey, savoury smell, which reminded me of Polish kabanos. They tasted distinctly of the caraway, paprika and pork.

jus

I made a jus to go with the sausages, by adding a little butter, crushed chilli, red wine, balsamic vinegar and some cooking water from carrots, leeks and cauliflower.

Yet another winner from Marek!

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Meat, Recipes, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Klobásy Sausages

  1. You do know that I officially love Marek now?! These sound lovely, and I adore caraway seeds. I checked out the blog page – really made me chuckle, especially the part at the end 😉

    • Mad Dog says:

      That will make Marek’s day! That blog page is very funny, but with good pictures and descriptions of the sausages in the middle 😉

  2. These sausages sound wonderful, especially with caraway seeds in them! Somehow I managed to miss these when I was in Prague.

  3. ¡Fantástico!
    They look delicious 🙂

  4. These look so much better than the ones I used to eat (and avoid) in Prague back in the early 90s….Back then I lived on beer and bread…was a skinny little thing with a belly that looked like I was five months gone….

  5. Czech out those bangers. We get a lot of merguez here, but I’ve become a fan of Toulouse sausages.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Toulouse are very good – I used to eat lots of them until the butcher started selling Napoli sausages which are quite spicy and even nicer!

  6. Our local sausages are sorely lacking in the fantastic department. There are lots of them but our area has a decided lack of anything other than simple Australian sausages or Italian.

  7. rutheh says:

    Sharing this great post with my son’s FIL who makes his own. Delicious.
    His ethnic background is Polish. These are BIG in Pittsburgh, too. Really popular. But I don’t think they are as good as the one you are showing today.

  8. Karen says:

    Mad Dog…the way you cooked the sausages must have really enhanced their flavor. I grew up in a small Texas town that was settled by Czechs and this sausage was always served at BBQ’s.

  9. Audrey Evermore says:

    Just when I have finally given up smoking I am thrown into a quandry … after reading your links I want to smoke sausages…you have a garden MD ! mmmmmm!
    ps… someone should tell Damien Hirst that putting sausages into formaldehyde is a waste of sausages… x

    • Mad Dog says:

      Sounds good to me – I was talking to Marek about smoking something in the festering wasteland outside, a couple of days ago.
      I’m inclined to agree with regard to formaldehyde – perhaps DH should pickle his work instead 😉

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    That’s one thing about living here, we’ve plenty of sausage from just about every nationality imaginable. I take that back. I’ve not seen any proper bangers nor have I seen Toulouse. I’m going to look around for these klobasy. I bet there’s some here somewhere! 🙂

    • Mad Dog says:

      I suspect you’ll find klobásy without too much trouble, especially a Polish version. I’m fairly addicted to Napoli sausages (as I’m sure I’ve already mentioned).

  11. Pingback: Smoked Sausages | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

