Spatchcock Chicken – Marinated

marinading

May 27th, 2012

I bought a chicken from the butcher to roast, but the weather’s been so warm that I wanted to do something summery with it. I fancied something hot and garlicky, so I mixed up a marinade. See my Spatchcock Poussin post for step by step spatchcock instructions. Spatchcocking is ideal for cooking birds quickly on a barbecue. By opening them out, cooking times are reduced considerably.

Marinade recipe:

6 pieces of garlic finely chopped
the juice of half a lemon
1 teaspoonful of hot Pimentón de la Vera
1 teaspoonful of ground mixed herbs (rosemary, sage and thyme)
a big pinch of ground chilli
enough olive oil to cover the chicken and bottom of your dish (as per the photo above)

Mix all the ingredients in a dish big enough to hold a spatchcocked chicken. Rub the chicken all over with the marinade and leave in the fridge or larder for at least 3 hours, turn the chicken over half way through.

griddle

Ideally I think this should be cooked on a barbecue, which I do have, but what I don’t have is a good space to use it. Therefore, I cooked the chicken on a very hot stove top griddle for 5 minutes per side. Then I put it back into the marinade dish, poured a little marinade over the top, sprinkled on salt and pepper, covered the dish with foil and it went into a preheated oven at 200º  for 30 minutes. If you have a barbecue, cook this on coals which are not too hot until the juices run clear.

griddled and roasted

Once cooked, I wrapped it in foil for 15 minutes to rest, while I fried some sliced potatoes

gravy

and whipped up a gravy using the juices in the bottom of the oven dish. I started the gravy off with flour and butter and added some fresh chicken bone stock that I just happened to have in the fridge, plus half a glass of red wine and a little red wine vinegar. As a word of caution, don’t use the marinade afterwards, on a cooked bird, unless you heat it up to kill off any bacteria – raw chicken can contain salmonella (mine was cooked for half an hour in the oven with the chicken).

The chicken had a fantastic smokey chilli garlic flavour and was very close to cooking it on a barbecue – it was beautifully moist and tender too.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Meat, Recipes, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Spatchcock Chicken – Marinated

  1. That looks great dude, as you say nice on a bbq, but looks like this would be awesome too.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Spatchcocked chicken is such a good move. It looks the business, it’s easy to put together and tastes great. Nice one.

  3. You got me with “garlicky”.

  4. Apart from tasting amazing (which I´m sure it did), it´s a great way to cook it (especially if it´s too hot or cold to use the bbq) and it just looks so great when you serve it!

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m not familiar with the Pimentón de la Vera and I’ve never used chili to marinate a chicken. BUT, I have used lemon, garlic, and rosemary plenty of times. With those as the base, I’m sure the pimentón and chili were welcome additions. I need to give this a try sometime this summer.

  6. Karen says:

    The chicken sounds delicious. I have a pork dish that I do similarly. I must try your chicken recipe now that the grill has come out of storage.

  7. Audrey Evermore says:

    Singe meister!

Leave a Reply

