Chinese Pork and Mojama

mojama

July 14th, 2012

I had dinner at Amaia’s house this week and was thrilled and delighted when she served mojama as a starter.

sliced mojama

Mojama is salted tuna loin. Using a traditional Spanish method for curing and preserving  fish, the tuna is salted for two or three days before being washed and left to dry under the sun. The result is a hard red block that’s sliced and eaten like ham. We ate it with bread, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil. Mojama smells like tuna, has a dry, ham like texture and is a little reminiscent of smoked salmon, though less salty. I loved it and could have eaten the whole piece!

chinese style roast pork

The main course was a large piece of pork, marinated overnight in a mixture of five spice, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, salt and pepper to give it a Chinese flavour. The skin was left untouched so that it would turn to crackling. Amaia roasted the pork slowly for a couple of hours in a medium oven. When it was cooked, the crackling hadn’t come to much, so I put the grill on and watched it patiently, until it had blistered perfectly. Making crackling just right under the grill, is very quick and simple, but it can change from perfect to burnt within 30 seconds, so you can’t take your eye off it for a moment.

fennel gratin

To go with the pork, Amaia made a delicious fennel gratin

stir fry with sweet chilli sauce

and stir fried noodles, with baby sweet corn, spinach and sweet chilli sauce.

stir fry with soy sauce

Above is the stir fry finished off with soy sauce.

chinese pork and stir fry

The pork was beautifully tender and had absorbed the Chinese seasoning throughout.

apple and cherry pie

For pudding, Adam (another guest) brought an apple and cherry pie

rhubarb crumble

and Amaia baked a rhubarb crumble! I got very lucky and was allowed to take home the tiny remaining portion of crumble at the end of the evening. I’m not normally a pudding fan, but I do love sharp things like rhubarb. We had some ginger ice cream, on the side.

I drank rather a lot of Spanish temperanillo wine throughout the evening, which was nicely rounded off by a glass of home made sloe gin.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Fish, Food, Meat, Recipes, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Chinese Pork and Mojama

  1. This is just all amazing and I want to come to your house for a mash-up meal….!

  2. The mojama sounds amazing. I have eaten it once and never forgotten it. I must see if the Spanish market stalls in La Rochelle have any. Wonderful dinner, you lucky man.

  3. Wow what a lovely meal, some of my favourite things here, I love mojama too.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Aha – another mojama fan! What a great dinner party – there is nothing here I don´t love 🙂

  5. Michelle says:

    What a lovely dinner!

  6. ceciliag says:

    That mojama sounds divine, but i guess you would not be drying it in the sun where you are!! and i am growing pigs precisely so that i can have roast pork WITH the crackling. In the US you cannot buy a roast like that i (in fact pork here does not have a taste.. weird!) i miss crackling! I also finish it under the grill and NO TOUCHING it while roasting! perfect job.. Now i must zoom off and check out the ginger ice cream! c

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Cecilia, I think I’ll be making monsoon mojama here.
      It is quite weird when animals don’t taste of anything – they must be feeding the poor pigs something really bland to achieve that. To be fair to America, I have had the most amazing hog roasts down south 😉

  7. What a fantastic meal! Lucky you! I’m not familiar with a lot in this post.. mojama almost reminds me of a lovely proscuitto?? and crackling.. that’s something I’ve not done before. I would have loved to be there just to explore new sights and tastes!!

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    What a feast! I’m sure you enjoyed every morsel, MD. I’ve never heard of mojama and would be at a loss to find it here. Although I know of plenty of Latino and Hispanic markets, I don’t know of any Spanish ones. Too bad because I’m sure I’d enjoy it. And you needn’t sell me on crackling. It’s the best part about roasting a porchetta.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks John. I can’t say with any certainty, but you might find mojama in one of the markets – lots of Spaniards emigrated to South America (and less so to North America) while Franco was in power. It would certainly keep and travel well.

  9. Audrey Evermore says:

    Is home made Mojama out of the question ? I have been looking for something to do with fresh tuna . Do we need sun or can we fake it ? I might ask my local sun bed shop if I could hire a bed for a day .Lovely food Amaia!

  10. Everything looks great!

  11. What a wonderful meal! I’ve never eaten mojama but I’m definitely going to look out for it now because it sounds delicious.

  12. peasepudding says:

    My goodness, my mouth was watering reading those pork ingredients!

  13. Pingback: Bacalao | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  14. ELISER says:

    Sliced mojama !! Is delicious !!!!!!

    Eliser, Spain

  15. Pingback: Cajun Roast Pork | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

