Sea Bream – griddled

sea bass and sea bream

August 4th, 2012

I bought some sea bream from the fishmonger at Angel Fisheries, specifically to cook on the griddle. This is a fairly simple method of cooking fish where the skin goes deliciously crispy. Sea bream always remind me of the Aquaphibian’s (fish men) submarine, from the TV programme Stingray.

dorada

First of all, scale and clean the fish – most, if not all, fishmongers will do this for you if you ask. Make 3 parallel cuts in the body of the fish on either side. Put a few sprigs of thyme, a couple of slices of lemon and some chopped garlic inside the body. Rub the sea bream with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

griddled

Heat a seasoned griddle or griddle pan until it smokes and rub on a splash of olive oil with some kitchen towel. Place the fish on the griddle and cook for 4 – 5 minutes per side. Don’t be tempted to move them too soon or the skin will stick to the griddle. When cooked, allow to rest on a warmed plate for 5 minutes before serving with a wedge of lemon.

vegetables

Serve with Mediterranean vegetables, cooked in the oven. Here I sliced and baked potatoes and garlic in olive oil for about 20 minutes at 200º C. Next I added chopped green pepper, olives, tomatoes, thyme, salt and pepper and cooked together in the oven for a further 15 – 20 minutes. You could also add an optional splash of dry white wine or vermouth for flavour.

I drank chilled vino rosado with my fish, but a crisp sancerre would also go down well.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Fish, Food, Recipes, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sea Bream – griddled

  1. Love the grilled fish and vegetables! Simple, good food.

  2. Yum – fish is so easy to cook! We barbeque sea bream (dorada) all the time – that delicious soft, white flesh with its smoky flavour – the kids love it too. Your veggie dish sounds great.

  3. Wow, I love simple fresh fish cooked like this. Lovely pics, a stunning meal.Good advice on stopping it sticking to the grill.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    We had some of their relations while in France last week. I had to do the gutting and scaling. The scales go everywhere. Well worth it though. Fine fish.
    Best,
    Conor

    • Mad Dog says:

      Scaling and gutting isn’t so common from the french fishmongers, but the scales are horrible if you don’t get rid of them. As you said, it’s definitely well worth it even if you have to do it 😉

  5. Karen says:

    Your fish dinner with the roasted vegetables sounds perfect.

  6. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! I really like how quick and easy this dish cooks up… Perfect for a busy weeknight after work.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve been on the look-out for sea bream but haven’t had any luck. This is one fish that I just may never find here. We are, after all, quite a distance from the Atlantic, let alone the Mediterranean. Still, I’ll enjoy it vicariously through your post, MD. Served with those roasted vegetables, I bet it was superb.

  8. I’ve not tasted sea-bream yet.. and it sounds like I will be looking for it at the fish mongers tomorrow. Just the thought of something so fragrant sounds perfect for the lake!!

  9. Beautiful fish, we lvoe it. And cooked just as I like it! Hope allis well with you 🙂

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks – I hope you are getting some good fish in Bexhill. I’m glad you are getting my blog and not being blocked by the idiosyncrasies of your internet card 😉

  10. ceciliag says:

    I agree with rosemary, it is simple good healthy food.. lovely. Angel! Oh I miss Angel! I especially miss the grubby little market there by M&S.. sigh.. Do you think we passed each other on the street when i lived there.. maybe.. what a thought! c

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Cecilia. They’ve stuck the farmers’ market at the end of Chapel Market now – it used to be by Islington Green. So I can visit the fish man and the farmer on a Sunday. You might be disappointed with M&S – their clothing has got very confused since they started trying to compete with Top Shop and French Connection.
      I wouldn’t be surprised if I’d passed you in the street – I do go to and through Angel several times a week 😉

  11. I love dorada! This a very simple AND good way of cooking. Your veggies look great too! 😉

  12. Pingback: Barbet on the Barbie | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

