Duck and Egg Mayonnaise

duck and egg mayonnaise

August 17th, 2012

I made mayonaise for a lunchtime egg salad sandwich today (see here for my home made mayonnaise recipe) and had some inspiration from something that I’d seen on television recently.

fried duck and garlic

BBC2 have been showing Exploring China: A Culinary Adventure, with Ken Hom and Ching-He Huang on Sunday evenings. Contrary to expectation, the programme has been excellent – particularly part two on Sichuan Province.

Anyway, I digress, Ching-He Huang refried some Peking duck for a salad and it stuck in my head. I had some leftover roast duck in the fridge and thought it would go well with egg mayonnaise. I chopped a handful of duck into small pieces and fried it in some hot duck fat. As the duck browned a little, I added two pieces of garlic, finely chopped – it doesn’t need to be cooked as long as the duck, so add it when the duck is nearly done.

Drain the fat and stir the warm duck and garlic into some mayonnaise, along with two chopped hard boiled eggs. Sprinkle on a little sea salt and cracked black pepper. I enjoyed the duck and egg mayonnaise in some brown sourdough bread from the St. John, but it would be equally delicious on a bed of lettuce and other salad vegetables.

Other Duck posts:

The Bull and Last
Donostia Social Club
Duck Confit
Duck Liver
Duck and Mushrooms
Foie Gras
Magret de Canarde
Magret Seché
Mallard
Roast Duck
Turkey Stuffed with Duck and Rabbit

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Meat, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Duck and Egg Mayonnaise

  1. Duck, garlic, mayonnaise….how could it go wrong? It sounds wonderful.

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    I have started watching the Ken Hom series this evening on the recorder. I learned first to cook Chinese about 30 years ago and it is still my best cuisine. I have not focussed on it a lot in the past couple of years. The TV programme reminded me of some awesome stuff that I have copied / mimicked a long time ago. The one that got me was the spring onion pancakes. I cooked them rolled rather than sliced. I remember them as delicious. A whole new avenue of blogging fun is opening up to me tonight.
    I wholeheartedly approve of adding the garlic late. It burns otherwise and makes the dish bitter.
    Best,
    Conor

    • Mad Dog says:

      I read an amazing book by Fuchsia Dunlop called Shark’s Fin and Sichuan Pepper which has made me very interested in visiting Sichuan Province. I really appreciate the way that a lot of effort goes in to flavouring the food, which could involve frying, simmering and then frying again to make it perfect.

  3. Audrey says:

    Truly inspired ! I have been adding finely chopped samphire to everything this week .You dont need to use any additional salt and it is so very green, I am going to try your home made mayonnaise this week ,

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds perfect, MD, and I bet the scent of that duck sautéing in duck fat was just incredible!

  5. Neat idea, Mad Dog. I missed that program, mores the pity.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks – you might find the programme on YouTube – you never know, they make come up with with an idea for your two troublemakers 😉

  6. Oh now that’s a wonderful idea…one of these days I will happen to have some roast duck leftover in the fridge! In the meantime, I will try out your mayonnaise recipe….I love fresh mayo….

  7. ceciliag says:

    The duck sounds gorgeous and now i am off for your mayo recipe.. I love a simple good mayonnaise! c

  8. ¡Qué rico! Me parece una receta excelente. Sencill y rápida 🙂

  9. I haven’t seen that program over here, but it has inspired one of the most flavorful dishes I’ve seen in a long time. I will have to “back up” a few steps and get some duck roasting here so I can have the leftovers!

  10. spicegirlfla says:

    I’m ashamed to admit I’ve not cooked with duck before except for a cooking class! With duck, garlic and homemade mayo, how could it not taste awesome!

  11. Pingback: Roast Duck | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  12. Pingback: Duck and Mushrooms | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  13. Pingback: Duck Confit and Puy Lentils | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  14. Pingback: Duck Liver | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  15. Pingback: Donostia Social Club | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  16. Pingback: Mallard | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  17. Pingback: Magret Seché | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  18. Pingback: Magret de Canard | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  19. Pingback: Turkey Fiesta | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  20. Pingback: The Bull and Last | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  21. Pingback: Foie Gras | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

