Monsoon

monsoon

September 9th, 2012

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been absent for a few weeks, this has been down to my involvement in shooting a documentary on the Paralympics, with a medium sized film crew from Germany. On the night they all arrived we had a welcome dinner at a local Indian restaurant – Monsoon.

See here for my ring side stadium position with Flat Ruthie.

papadoms

We had several mountains of papadoms with pickle and other coniments while ordering. I think for the most part, Niko (the director) ordered lots of food for everyone. I can’t say that I’m sure I photographed everything, the food kept coming and was distributed around the table.

onion bhaji

For starters we had some excellent onion bhajis (chopped onions, combined with flour and spices, then deep fried),

chicken tikka

succulent chicken tikka (marinated chicken pieces, cooked on skewers in a tandoor oven)

king prawn butterfly

and crunchy king prawn butterfly (deep fried butterflied prawns, coated in spicy breadcrumbs).

chicken korma

The main courses were chicken korma (a mild dish of chicken, yogurt, cream and coconut milk),

lamb rogan

lamb rogan (a slightly hot dish with tomatoes and chilli) and

lamb vindaloo

a super hot lamb vindaloo (with its origins in Portuguese colonial India – the name comes from the Portuguese dish Carne de Vinha d’ Alhos, meat with wine and garlic).

mushroom pilau rice

To accompany the food we ate lots of mushroom pilau rice, naan bread (flat bread, not pictured) and

bhindi bhaji

bhindi bhaji (okra, sometimes referred to as lady’s fingers), ordered especially for Shinya, the Japanese sound man.

All the food was excellent – personally I find that a lot of Indian restaurants have adapted their menus to be like supermarket ready meals these days, so it’s good to find one that still makes traditional food. Even better, Monsoon is a BYOB restaurant and there’s a handy late night grocery store next door that sells wine and beer.

Monsoon is at: 24 York Rise, NW5 1ST

Call 020 7284 1700 for deliveries.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Meat, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Monsoon

  1. I wondered why you hadn’t posted lately! Hope the filming went well – the meal certainly looks wonderful!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    What a feast, MD! I bet you all had a wonderful time. Well, with all that good food, it would be mighty hard not to. Does this mean you’re back?

  3. rutheh says:

    Yum Yum Yum. Lucky Flat Ruthie. Thanks for the cool pingback, too. What a great post.

  4. Soooo, rather than tell you to STOP MAKING ME JEALOUS with your fab meals out, I will ask what the Germans made of you photographing all the dishes?

  5. Lorraine says:

    I just watched the closing ceremony for the Paralympics and thought it was the coolest thing ever
    What a great show … Truly stunning and awe inspiring. Fair play to Cold Play too . They are all heros. You must have had a ball … with flat Ruthie too ! How cool …

  6. Audrey Evermore says:

    OMG … I thought I’d lost Audrey for a minute there … how did that happen . Closing ceremony wasw very Mutiod Waste ! I was looking everywhere for you … I bet you got some great shots …

  7. Fabulous tastes I’m sure but Indian food, as served in English restaurants, is not a pretty sight. A great deal of brown with the odd slice of tomato and cucumber. I remember fondly the warm “salad” that would arrive in a takeaway. I’m very interested in your work on the documentary. Excellent project although I’d be happy not to hear the word “Olympic” for a while:)

    • Mad Dog says:

      You are right it does all come in varying shades of brown – never mind though it tastes good. Hopefully the Olympics have been put to bed for another four years 😉

  8. rick says:

    Got to get you over to the restaurant at the temple in Neasden. You won’t believe what tastes you can create without meat or onions and garlic.

    • Mad Dog says:

      I’ve had some great bhel puri in Drummond Street, so why not. Though I’d probably be inclined to give up meat before garlic and neither of those things are likely to happen 😉

  9. zestybeandog says:

    Ohhhhh looks so good! I love vindaloo! Now I want some Indian!!!!

  10. great that you took Flat Ruthie to the para olympics, I took her to the olympics – but more importantly did she go for the curry ?

  11. Karen says:

    I love good Indian food but it is had to find here. Sounds like a wonderful meal before starting your documentary.

  12. Good looking food Mad.

  13. ceciliag says:

    i said to myself as i came over to check if you were here today that if you were not i was going to email you and see what was what! And here you have been larking it up with a film crew.. doing a doco.. I hope you had tons of fun while we sat home and worried about you, mr gadabout! (laughter!!).. c

Leave a Reply

