The Real Greek

the real greek

September 14th, 2012

During the Paralympics, Niko and I had several hours to spare between events. Of course those two hours happened to be lunchtime, so we went in search of a restaurant in Westfield Shopping Centre (Stratford). Westfield itself looks like any other new shopping centre and contains all the same shops you’ll find in every Western city. There’s nothing new or interesting, it’s all the same – very dull and boring. After looking at a few places selling identical steak and burgers we got lucky and spotted The Real Greek. The food looked good and the place was busy.

taramasalata and tzatziki

We started with Taramasalata (freshly made daily with undyed cod roe) and Tzatziki (cucumber, dill, garlic and mint in Greek yoghurt). Note the novel cake tier style of food servings. The cynic in me is inclined to think this means they can squeeze in more people on smaller tables.

grilled asparagus

Our main courses were Grilled Asparagus (dressed with Greek honey and olive oil),

grilled kalamari

Grilled Kalamari (in a paprika based marinade),

lamb kefte

Lamb Kefte (minced and skewered lamb in an Anatolian marinade with minted yoghurt),

grilled octopus

Grilled Octopus (in olive oil, garlic and oregano)

tiger prawns with garlic and chilli

and finally Tiger Prawns with garlic and chilli.

I think we visited the right place – even though The Real Greek is a chain of 5 restaurants the service was good and the food was delicious.

espresso

After a quick coffee

olympic stadium

we went back out into the fray…

The Paralympics were packed and the largely British crowd cheered for everyone – it was a sight to behold!

The Real Greek is at: 2 Chestnut Plaza, Westfield Stratford City, Montfichet Road,
E20 1GL

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Eating Out, Fish, Food, Meat, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Real Greek

  1. Audrey Evermore says:

    that Kofte looks so juicy … and I am not convinced about your smaller tables theory . Looks like you had six people at yours …was that six or seven dishes you consumed …between two !!!

  2. That looks so good. I think I heard about the Real Greek sometime ago from Andy Harris. You should check out his book “Modern Greek” with pictures by William Meppen.

  3. It looks wonderful, and especially nice to see taramasalata that isn’t pink! (have you any recommendations for somewhere to eat Catalan food in Les Corts, Barcelona?)

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks. I have to confess that I haven’t spent much time around Les Corts in many years, though I would expect there to be some good little restaurants in the area. Do have a look at my friend Oli’s restaurant list under links to the left hand side of my blog, or here to make it easy 😉
      I’ll ask around and if I find out about anything specific I’ll let you know.

  4. Looks great but I just know I´d have knocked those plates flying!

  5. You were so fortunate to attend those games! Which was your favorite event? Only a “foodie” could hunt down such excellent food.. in a mall, no less! That espresso shot really caught my eye.. along with the rest of the dishes! I like that stacking plates idea!

  6. Sounds divine. I do like real Greek….and it isn’t easy to find. Congratulations on your foraging success! 😉

  7. Everything looks delicious!

  8. spicegirlfla says:

    I love restaurant posts and getting inspiration from their dishes! The honey on the grilled asparagus caught my attention, so not thought of that! Plus the presentation on the tiered plates – you’re probably right about space saving for that!! Everything looks amazing, those prawns too!!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks – the presentations does look good on the tiers. I’m probably too cynical, I’ve had food in lots of restaurants where there’s a struggle to find room for all the plates on the table 🙂

  9. ceciliag says:

    Actually i quite like it when people are all smashed in together with tiny tables and towers of FOOD( who knew) .. and don’t you love it when they all cheer for everyone.. awesome.. c

  10. ¡Qué buena pinta tiene todo! Eso me recuerda que hace siglos que no voy a un griego…the real greek me pilla un poco lejos sin embargo 😉

    • Mad Dog says:

      Gracias Giovana. Siempre me ha sorprendido por lo difícil que es encontrar comida griega en España. Cosas como taramasalata son muy populares en Francia. Tal vez no hay muchos griegos que viven en España …

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Everything I’ve read and watched about the Paralympics described it as a once-in-a-lifetime event. How wonderful that the athletes were treated so well!
    This sounds like my kind of restaurant. I would have enjoyed everything you were served — and maybe a dish or two more. No telling when I’d be back so I might as well take advantage of my “visit.” 🙂

  12. Karen says:

    Sure beats eating a burger. Honey on the grilled asparagus sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

