L’Antic Forn

l'antic forn

l’antic forn

December 5th, 2012

It’s was a grey day (even in Barcelona), nevertheless, I set out to find a new restaurant with a good lunchtime menu. I’d noticed L’Antic Forn (old bakery) a few nights before, because it had a bunch of calçots outside on a little table – part of the reason for going back was to see if they were serving calçots – these are a Catalan invention – forced onions which are cooked on a barbecue until black on the outside. The blackened outed layers are peeled off and the calçots are eaten, dipped in Romesco Sauce or Salvitxada.

la ventana

la ventana

There were no calçots on the lunchtime menu (they do have a special Calçotades menu in the evenings), but L’Antic Forn looked interesting, an old school Catalan restaurant, not unlike Can Lluis. Note the lovely Art Nouveau windows. The clientele seemed to be business people (mostly) and not at all touristy – I got the last empty table and quite a few people came afterwards (a good indication of quality is a full restaurant).

bufet de ensaladas

bufet de ensaladas

The menu turned out to be very good – four courses for 11€, the first course being a salad buffet! The choice of salad was huge, lots of different varieties of leaf, pasta, tomatoes, carrots, olives, etc. I had a modest portion, but some people piled it up on their plates or went back for more.

alcachofas al horno

alcachofas al horno

I had Alcachofas al Horno (artichokes cooked in the oven) next, drizzled with a little olive oil and a pinch of salt (I think). Coming from London where artichokes are less common, I do like to indulge when in Barcelona. They were very good!

merluza plancha con guarnicion

merluza plancha con guarnicion

I’d wanted Pies de Cerdo Guisados con Jamón (stewed pig’s trotters with ham) as my main course, but they’d just run out. Never mind, I made do with Merluza Plancha con Guarnición (girdled hake and a vegetable garnish) – a very underrated fish in the UK. The hake was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were soft, but they’d obviously been cooked in a delicious savoury stock, as they tasted amazing.

crema catalana

crema catalana

I ordered my favourite regional pudding – Crema Catalana –  I’m sure I don’t need to translate that.

café

café

Coffee was probably an extra 1.50€ – not exactly breaking the bank.

The food and service were excellent – I highly recommend L’Antic Forn.

L’Antic Forn is at: C/ Pintor Fortuny 28, 08001 Barcelona

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to L’Antic Forn

  1. I love those alcachofas – I see artichokes in the market every week, but I still can’t resist them! And what an amazing value lunch. Barcelona is such a good place for food! Pity about the calçots. We cook them, using young sweet onions straight from the garden, on the open fire in the garden, with romesco sauce….mmm, can’t wait for spring when the onions are ready!

    • Mad Dog says:

      It really is great food and value, but there are some restaurants that aren’t quite as good. The affordable midday menus were (I believe) insisted upon by Franco, so that ordinary people could have a decent lunch. I don’t think restaurants make much (if any) money at lunchtime, but they do get an opportunity to show off their food – at night they charge a lot more 😉

  2. Michelle says:

    So fun to learn new things, and I hadn’t heard of calçots. Wow, yet another reason to make it to Barcelona! (I know, I know … I can’t believe I haven’t been there yet.)

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    You do seem to find some real gems when dining out, MD. This place is another place I’d be very happy to dine in. Calçots are new to me but I’d certainly give them a try and thsoe artichokes look like those that Mom once prepared.
    Coincidentally, merluzzo will be my post for next week. Have I mentioned that I’ve 3 fishmongers in my area? 🙂

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks John – I keep trying – though I did come across a real turkey last week (which will remain unblogged). I’m looking forward to your merluzzo post – it’s amazing how much influence Greek and Latin have on European languages, but it does help considerably when learning them 🙂

  4. Eha says:

    There is a misprint there, truly? Even I could come and have a foodie fiesta here !! [Nope, forgot about the airline ticket 😉 !]!

  5. The 11€ menu is one of the wonders of Europe. Fantastic menu. I love hake, and remember eating it in Gomera with local potatoes and Rojo Verde.

  6. Another great place with a fantastic menu – how long are you away for? We´re heading to Spain tomorrow! (Back in the UK for Christmas so lots of km to cover in the car)

  7. Tessa says:

    You seem to find some really great places to eat! Those artichokes looks great!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Tessa. I like to make the most of artichokes, they don’t grow so well in Britain and are less common, which makes them quite expensive. In Spain they are a normal, regular priced vegetable 🙂

Leave a Reply

