Goose and Lamb Pie

new year pie

new year pie

January 2nd 2013

On the 30th December I had some leftover goose and lamb, not to mention stuffing, which needed eating. There was far too much to eat in a couple of sittings and to be honest I’d had enough of Christmas food, so I made a pie. I cooked the filling on the 30th, giving it time overnight for all the flavours to infuse (or is that enthuse).

Goose and Lamb filling:

1 lb diced roast goose
1 1/2 lb diced roast lamb
1 lb cooked stuffing (chopped)
4 slices smoked streaky bacon (chopped)
1 pint of home made lamb stock
1/2 pint of home made goose stock
1 large onion (chopped)
2 carrots (chopped)
2 sticks of celery (chopped)
6 button mushrooms (chopped)
6 pieces of garlic (finely chopped)
2 teaspoons of ground herbs (rosemary, sage and thyme – ground in a mortar and pestle with coarse sea salt and black peppercorns)
2 bay leaves
1 large pinch of crushed chilli
2 teaspoons hot Pimentón de la Vera
1 glass of red wine
a splash of red wine vinegar
2 dessert spoons of tomato purée
1 squeeze of anchovy paste
a little olive oil
1 teaspoon of goose fat

cook until tender

cook until tender

Heat a little olive oil and goose fat in a cast iron casserole and fry the onion with a pinch of chilli until it’s translucent. Add the bacon and when it has browned, the celery, carrot and garlic. Follow those with the mushrooms a few minutes later. Stir in all the meat and stuffing, sprinkle on the ground herbs,  squirt in the purée and anchovy paste, pour in the wine, vinegar and stock. The stock was homemade, from a goose carcass and a lamb leg bone. Bring the casserole to a  simmer, sprinkle on the Pimentón de la Vera, stir, put the lid on the casserole and pop it in the oven at 100º C for 2 – 3 hours.

Do taste the pie filling from time to time. I recommend tasting and adding more of the purée, anchovy paste, pimentón, wine and vinegar if necessary – the flavours do mellow with cooking and may need to be reinvigorated. Make sure you only add a little at a time – too much might ruin it.

pie filling

pie filling

I left the pie filling to cool overnight and gave it another hour of cooking the next morning, by which time it was very tender and the meat had absorbed lots of flavour. When ready I left the filling to cool again. The stuffing did a good job of thickening the dish, so I didn’t add flour, which I would have done.

pastry

pastry

Do make the pastry at least an hour before using and chill it in the fridge – this makes it easier to roll. I always make pastry, it’s much better than the bought variety – you can tell the difference big time. See here for a good basic pastry recipe.

goose and lamb pie

goose and lamb pie

When the pie mix is cool and you are ready to cook it, pre heat the oven to 200º C. Pour the mixture into a pie dish, roll out the pastry to slightly larger than the dish, cover the filling and tuck the edges in. Crimp all the way round with your fingers. Decorate the pie with leftover pastry – I cut the goose out freehand, but you could print something, cut it out and use it as a template. Brush the pie with some beaten egg and do make sure you cut a few holes in the pastry to let the heat out or it will blow up like a ballon.

the golden goose

the golden goose

Cook for 30 – 45 minutes – it’s ready when the pastry is golden brown. My pie went into the oven in 2012 and came out in 2013!

The pie serves 6 people and goes very well with champagne.

Happy New Year.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Fish, Food, Game, Meat, Recipes, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Goose and Lamb Pie

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    I love it. Particularly your last line ‘…goes very well with Champagne’. Nice fretwork on the goose too.
    Happy New Year,
    Conor

  2. ¡Qué buena idea MD! Tiene una pinta buenísima 🙂

  3. Eha says:

    Interesting! Don’t often possess goose as a leftover, but, letting one’s imagination loose whilst sipping a glass of that opened red needed: there’s a lovely New Year recipe here! Thanks!!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I do give you credit, MD. Mixing goose and lamb in a pie is not something I would ever consider. You not only did it but made it sound so good that I wish I had prepared it myself years ago.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks John – it was the lamb’s fault. I had an unexpected invitation to dinner and ended up with too much lamb. Otherwise I would have eaten the goose with potatoes and vegetables or perhaps in a pie with venison. However, it did turn out to be very good 🙂

  5. I´d be “enthusing” if I were a goose and you did that to me! Oh dear, that sounds a bit rude, but you know what I mean 🙂 Love the Golden Goose too – your pies always sound amazing and look incredible too!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Tanya – i have to confess that there’s not much to pie making. Good meat, a mirepoix, bone stock and a bit of flavouring works wonders. Real pastry helps too, but again it’s much simpler than people think. Even if you use a food processor it’s much better than shop bought, by miles 🙂

  6. Karen says:

    This is one meal I won’t be recreating…that is unless I cook all the dishes that you made in order to have leftovers. I’m sure it was a very good pie.

  7. I have a severe attack of the gastro virus so I can’t even contemplate this dish. I’m only writing this in case the acronym MD might mean that you have a cure:)

    • Mad Dog says:

      I’m very sorry to hear that Roger.
      I had Christmas lunch with a friend who came down with the norovirus 24 hours later. Fortunately I was abiding by a tip I got, from a documentary over the holidays, which mentioned that John Huston and Humphrey Bogart stayed completely healthy throughout the filming of the African Queen, while the rest of the crew were as sick as dogs. They didn’t drink the water 😉
      Needless to say, it works!

  8. Tessa says:

    Looks and sounds delicious! I love the flying goose on the pie crust! I hope that you had a wonderful New Year!

  9. Goose and lamb pie. You had my attention even before I read the recipe. Pretty good pastry goose.

  10. Wow…this pie deserves to be tasted. The filling looks just luscious.

  11. cecilia says:

    Goose and lamb pie sounds so decadent, medieval feasting worthy.. wonderful c

  12. Pingback: Goose | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

