Côte Bistro

Côte Bistro

côte bistro

July 22nd, 2013.

I’ve been out for lunch today with my sister, who wanted to do some shopping in central London. The weather forecast said, “Hotter than hell” – so I had a good think about outdoor restaurants. I’d eaten at the Côte Bistro in Highgate recently and been  impressed, so I made a reservation at their Covent Garden restaurant for 1pm.

In general I’m not a fan of chain restaurants, but the Côte does live up to its mission statement and it provides a decent set lunch/theatre menu for £11.70:

Our inspiration for the food and design comes from a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros that populate Paris. There has been a resurgence of interest in simple bistro cooking in Paris as locals turn away from expensive and over complicated cooking in formal restaurants to return to the basics of French cuisine.

Of course we went the whole hog and ordered à la carte.

Steak Tartare

steak tartare

I had some excellent Steak Tartare to start – finely chopped raw beef with shallots, capers, cornichons, egg yolk and cognac, served with toasted sourdough bread. Steak Tartare is not for everyone, but I’d eaten it in their other branch and was very much looking forward to it – it was excellent!

Haddock

haddock

I had Haddock, French beans and fries for my main course. The haddock is hidden beneath the rocket, but it was quite spectacular, wrapped in smoked French bacon and sautéed – served on a pea purée with tomato and chive vinaigrette. The seasoning was perfect.

Crème Bûlée

crème brûlée

I had to finish with my favourite pudding – Crème Brûlée. I’d eaten their’s before and knew it would be good. I particularly like the fact that it comes in a little coccotte with lid.

champagne

champagne

As it had been my sister’s birthday recently we had a bottle of NV Brut Baron De Marck to keep ourselves cool.

The service was impeccable and we sat at a shaded table outside (though we did arrived early to make sure we got a somewhere cool). In spite of it being Monday and the boiling weather, the restaurant was nearly full inside.

Côte Covent Garden is at: 17 – 21 Tavistock Street, WC2E  7PA

Square Meal

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Meat, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Côte Bistro

  1. Michelle says:

    “Hotter than hell” has been our forecast of late as well. Looks like you made the best of it!

  2. Eha says:

    Oh dear, oh dear: ‘hotter than hell’ in Oz would mean AT LEAST 42-44 C: I believe you were in pleasantly warm 30s . . . 🙂 ! Personally I have lunch outdoors even at our current winter temperatures, so am glad you enjoyed that. I too love steak tartare and make it often myself: methinks I would have loved it slightly finer , ., , but then I was not there to taste !

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Eha, you are right, I’ve travelled round the Northern Territories and Queensland by bus (before AC) in December and that really is hotter than hell 😉

  3. Ruth says:

    The birthday bubbly must have been very refreshing in the heat! Cheers to your sister too.
    Flat Ruthie was to go to the Museum in Zagreb but I had to post without her in the pics as my son misplaced her!

  4. Sounds like a perfect lunch and you have made me soooo jealous with the steak tartare. Belated greetings to your sister 🙂

  5. I’m so impressed with what you ate in an £11.70 menu in London. Just about perfect bistro lunch in an excellent location. I’ll remember Cote Bistro if I ever save up enough money to come to London again:)

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Anywhere serving a good steak tartare has to get my vote. Your meal looks excellent.

  7. This looks like a delicious meal. I like your choices. I’d probably have the same.

  8. Karen says:

    Champagne to keep cool…I have to try that. I’m sure your sister enjoyed the outing from the looks of your meal.

  9. That is certainly the right way to celebrate a sibling’s birthday! Reminds me that I must plant more rocket (arugula to me!)

  10. Tessa says:

    That creme brulee looks great! Looks like you had a wonderful lunch with your sister. Have a great weekend Mad Dog!

  11. cecilia says:

    Most excellent! Loved the steak tartare! I love going out to lunch, eating out of doors.. having a lovely bubbbly! sounds perfect

  12. That haddock looks wonderful. I think everything is better wrapped in bacon 🙂

  13. zestybeandog says:

    This all looks amazing! Especially the Tartare! YUM!

  14. peasepudding says:

    that is a great price and I love Tartare. We have Auckland restaurant month at the moment and restaurants are offering cheaper set menus but we are still more expensive that England. I going to take advantage of this month though ;o)

Leave a Reply

