Market Cuina Fresca

market cuina fresca

market cuina fresca

1st October 2013

I arrived in Barcelona last night to visit the Cavatast (later in the week) – I was just in time for supper at Romesco and a nightcap or two in Iposa afterwards.

This morning was complicated when I went to buy a Spanish sim for my phone – the phone needed to be unlocked and then the man in the shop forgot to add the new credit. At least it had me crossing the Boqueria four times before lunch! Eventually I got to Poblenou (on the outskirts of Barcelona), where I was doing some work with Adrian – he suggested eating first.

market interior

market interior

We went to a restaurant, just round the corner from Adrian’s office, called Market Cuina Fresca. It has a few tables outside (for al fresco lunching), a front without a sign (see top photo) and the interior is simple, clean and unpretentious. Market is very busy – we had to wait 10 minutes for a table. I mentioned the place to a friend later in the week and she said she was intending to go there soon because it’s making quite a name for itself. Apparently the  restaurant is owned by a husband and wife team, he cooks and she does front of house. The ethos being that the food is bought fresh every morning.

menu del dia

menu del dia

I believe that Market is only open at lunchtime and it does a menu del dia for 12.90€ (see above).

tartar de pescado

tartar de pescado

I ordered Tartar de Pescado, Rúcula y Granada – fish tartare, arugula and pomegranate for my first course. It came beautifully presented (as did all the food) and the tartar was absolutely delicious.  I’m not entirely sure what fish was, but I’m sure I could see some salmon in there.

tomate orgánico

tomate orgánico

Adrian ordered Tomate Orgánico con Albahaca y Vinagreta Ahumada – organic tomatoes and basil, with smoked vinaigrette. I had a little taste and the tomatoes were amazing.

pollo confitado con morcilla

pollo confitado con morcilla

My second course was Pollo Confitado con Morcilla Negra, Avellanos y Alubias Blancas – chicken confit with Catalan black pudding and a hazelnut and white bean sauce. The chicken was wonderfully crispy like the best duck confit, the crumbly morcilla and white sauce complimented it perfectly.

bacalao fresco

bacalao fresco

Adrian had Bacalao Fresco con Berenjena Asada, Tomate, Cilantro y Granada – fresh cod with roasted aubergine, coriander (cilantro) and pomegranate. Generally salt cod is the norm in Spain, but lately fresh cod has become more popular. Again this was a flawless dish, it did cost an extra 1.50€ but I think it was worth the supplement.

mató con piña

mató con piña

We both ordered Mató con Piña y Miel – fresh white cheese with pineapple and honey. Miel y Mató is a very popular pudding in Cataluña. The cheese in this one was probably home made.

carajillo

carajillo

Market doesn’t sell rosado wine – some Catalan restaurants only do red or white. As it was a very hot day and I didn’t fancy white wine, I had a beer with lunch. They do of course serve carajillos after pudding. A carajillo is an espresso containing anis, brandy, rum or whiskey, served at 11 am and after meals. It is said that Spanish troops fighting in Cuba added shots of rum to their coffee for courage, hence the name comes from the Spanish coraje (courage). I drink mine with brandy.

Market Cuina Fresca is at: Badajoz 83, 08005, Poblenou, Barcelona

Market Cuina Fresca is excellent – get here early if you want a table!

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Meat, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Market Cuina Fresca

  1. Tessa says:

    Fabulous looking dishes! So fresh and bright!

  2. You eat in wonderful restaurants! Envious.

  3. Wonderful, wonderful lunch. Absolutely my ideal of a restaurant. …it should’ve been me 🙂

  4. andreamynard says:

    Looks brilliant. Have menu del dia envy!

  5. Muy buena reseña, vas a tener que empezar a cobrar por ellas 😉

  6. Wow, looks superb. Sadly, 10 minutes from my office we have a McDonalds, a couple of 2-for-1 pubs and Greggs. Sigh…..

    • Mad Dog says:

      That’s a shame 😦
      Adrian’s office is in the middle of an industrial area, but there’s a great place to eat on almost every street 😉

  7. Perfect and I’m glad you spent the extra 1.50 – it was worth it! Big Man starts every morning with a carajillo de anis dulce and a little shot of Ponche Caballero, even here in England (we have supplies!), Our neighbour next door joins him on the weekend over the garden wall but I think he’s a bit worried about drinking in the morning on a weekday. Big Man just doesn’t undertand why he’s concerned!

    • Mad Dog says:

      I’m with Big Man – you only live once, so you might as well enjoy it while you can. I’ve never tried a carajillo de anis dulce, but I do like Pastis and Patxaran, so I should give it a go – salud! 😉

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve said it before, MD, you certainly do find great places to eat. This, for a lunch, sounds fantastic and is so very different than the norm in these parts.

Leave a Reply

