Joanet October 2013

joanet

joanet

October 7th, 2013

I’ve blogged Joanet several times over the last couple of years. It’s a family owned and run restaurant, in a quiet little square on the far side of El Born, near to Parc de la Ciutadella. During the week, Joanet is only open  for lunch and does a menu del dia for 11€. It’s open at the weekend too, but the prices are à la carte. Recently Joanet has stated opening in the evening on Fridays and Saturdays.

alcachofas a la marinera

alcachofas a la marinera

I met Anita and Nookie for lunch and was immediately prompted to reblog the restaurant because of an unusual starter – Alcachofas a la Marinera (artichokes in a seafood sauce). I hadn’t come across this before, but having looked it up I discovered that it’s quite popular in Spain. This one contained artichokes, clams, mussels, squid, white wine, onion, garlic and tomato. There was also some white fish in it, probably rapé (monkfish) and possibly cigalas (crayfish) – these seem to be likely ingredients as they are included in other recipes. All three of us ordered the Alcachofas a la Marinera as a starter and it was excellent!

boquerones y sardinas a la malagueña

boquerones y sardinas a la malagueña

I ordered Boquerones y Sardinas a la Malagueña (anchovies cured in vinegar with sardines,  Málaga style) for my main course. The fish is battered and deep fried, served with a simple salad and lemon.

crema catalana

crema catalana

As always, when it’s on the menu, I had Crema Catalana for pudding. It’s very much like crème brûlée, but additionally contains lemon and orange  zest with cinnamon. Traditionally it’s burnt on top with a heated iron, not a flame. Joanet’s Crema Catalana is one of the best!

The 3 course menu del dia comes with 500ml wine, beer or a soft drink. It costs €11. The restaurant is closed on Thursdays.

Joanet is at: Plaça de Sant Agusti Vell, 6 , 08003, Barcelona

Other visits:

October 17th , 2011
April 22nd, 2012
March 2016

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Joanet October 2013

  1. Just excellent. The tables outside the cafe look very tempting on this grey morning.

  2. Lovely – I can’t get fresh artichokes here but when I’m back in Spain….

  3. Ruth says:

    Wish I lived closer.

  4. Pingback: Blue Beach Bar | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  5. Tessa says:

    Looks great. I think I’ve said this before but, you really do find the best restaurants!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Alcachofas a la marinera as a starter? When I read that I knew you were in for a great meal. I wasn’t wrong. And for €11 ?!?!? That is just amazing, MD. I’d go back to the restaurant whenever I was in town, too.

  7. spicegirlfla says:

    How interesting to mingle in the artichokes with the seafood….this is a tip I must try! I’d continue to return to that restaurant too, all that food looks fabulous!!

  8. Pingback: Joanet | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  9. Pingback: Joanet (revisited) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  10. Greetings I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I
    really found you by accident, while I was researching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have
    bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb
    jo.

  11. Good write-up. I absolutely love this website. Keep it up!

  12. Pingback: Joanet (2016) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

