Gelida

Gelida1

gelida

November 28th, 2015

On Saturday we arranged to meet four friends for lunch at Gelida, an old school bodega and restaurant a few streets above Mercat de Sant Antoni.

vermut

vermut

We sat outside and drank the house vermut (vermouth) while waiting for the others to arrive.

gelida interior

gelida interior

Gelida is one of a diminishing number of bodegas where wine is still served from the barrel, in a porrón or reusable bottle. It’s possible to come to this type of bar with an empty bottle and get it filled up to takeaway. Before the advent of modern wine merchants and supermarkets, this was a normal thing to do, just like taking a jug to a dairy for some milk.

menu

menu

They don’t do a menu del dia here (not common in most restaurants at the weekend anyway), but looking at the prices on the menu (above), you’ll see that it’s as cheap as chips regardless. Gelida is a very popular weekend lunch spot with the locals and we waited for an hour to get room at a table suitable for six. This was no hardship with excellent vermut on tap and a table in the sun outside.

faves a la catalana

faves a la catalana

We ordered lots of different things from the menu and shared/tasted most things. I particularly ordered faves a la Catalana – a local dish of broad beans, onion, sausage (black butifarra I think), garlic, etc. They were excellent!

garbanzos con huevo duro

garbanzos con huevo duro

Sylvia had some beautiful garbanzos con huevo duro – a chickpea stew with a a hard boiled egg,

albondigas con guisantes

albondigas con guisantes

and Oli ordered albondigas con guisantes – some delicious meatballs with peas.

galtes con guarnición

galtes con guarnición

The main courses included galtes con guarnición  (large pig cheeks),

salmonettas

salmonettas

salmonetes (striped red mullet, which slid off the bone and melted in the mouth),

conejo al horno

conejo al horno

conejo al horno (a very tender rabbit cooked in the oven),

butifarra con guarnición

butifarra con guarnición

and butifarra (a traditional, spicy Catalan sausage). I had wanted to try the cap i pota, a melt in the mouth sticky veal head and foot stew, I’d heard it was very good here, but they’d sold out. That’s good reason for  a return visit.

vi negre

vi negre

Debbie and I shared the vi negre – red wine decanted from a barrel at €2.80 per bottle! The others were on white.

mel i mató

mel i mató

For pudding I had mel i mató, a soft white cheese with honey.

flan de mató

flan de mató

Oli had flan de mató (a fresh cheese flan)

flan de la casa

flan de la casa

and Jonas had an outrageous looking flan de la casa.

carajillo

carajillo

After lunch I had a carajillo to pick me up.

the bill

the bill

Our bill came to €124.10, which was €20.68 each, plus a tip.

gelida window

gelida window

Gelida is at:  C/de la Diputació 133, 08015, Barcelona

After our very long lunch we walked back down to the Raval for some early evening refreshment at Iposa. Three bottles of rosado later and Oli wanted to go home for a late siesta, so I went with Debbie to a restaurant called Lo De Flor – it was quite dark and I’d a had a few drinks, so the camera took the night off. The food was spectacular, especially the duck rillettes (which were to die for) and our hostess was wonderfully charming.

Sometime later… (about 3am) we ended up at Betty Ford’s drinking frozen margaritas

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Meat, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Gelida

  1. Eha says:

    Oh dear! Three days ere Yule I am supposed to be working not feeling increasingly peagreen walking in your footsteps in Barcelona! Another 15-hour ‘lunch’!! But love the food and the places and had a great laugh at the ‘Betty Ford’ bar: hmm – always thought her name attached to rehab 🙂 ! If I have one favourite it would be the pig cheeks and my one-and-only real, butcher here will get a query: who could resist that Nigel Slater recipe of yours 😀 !!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Eha -I’m glad to see you survived the storms, it looked like it was bad in Sydney.
      I can tell you we were definitely in rehab by the time we got to Betty Ford – those margaritas kept us alive!

  2. I can’t even deal with how well you guys ate. I love vermut and find it hard to get it here the way they have it in Spain. And wine from the barrel in a porron for that price? I’ll have to try conejo in the oven. If you hadn’t told me what the pig cheeks were I would never have guessed. And a carajillo as a pick me up. Just yes! Yes. What a day you had! Thanks for sharing it with us.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Amanda – vermut was an old man’s drink when I lived in Spain 20 years ago, but it has had a huge resurgence in popularity recently, which means that there are lots of different varieties – I want to try them all, but not in an afternoon! 🙂

      • When we were in Spain I got to try light and dark and some homemade ones. The new popularity is like whiskey here. Total old man’s drink until like 10 or 15 years ago.

        • Mad Dog says:

          You are right about the vermut and whiskey. There are a lot of little micro whiskey distilleries springing up in the UK, no doubt down to the success of gin. Prior to that I don’t think there had been a new distillery in London for 100 years. I even have a friend who’s started a small whiskey distillery.

  3. Proper food….I love that menu….perfect place…we keep meaning to do a trip to Barcelona and will definitely ask you for recommendations.

  4. Another fabulous afternoon for you in Barcelona 🙂 Great food, Big Man would have loved the Flan! I rememebr the first time he took me to a bar in Granada that served it’s own vermut – can’t say I was over enthusiastic. But when I tasted it – wow! Such a difference from a bottle of Martini 😉

  5. Karen says:

    You definitely know how to make the most of a day…and evening. 😀 The food sounds good at lunch and you certainly can’t bet the price.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Back in the 20’s and 30’s, you could buy beer here — and wine depending upon the neighborhood — by the bucket and take it home. Like the barrels of olive oil and cured olives, they are no more.
    That would have been a helluva lunch for twice its actual cost, MD. I agree with Roger. If I ever find myself heading back to Barcelona, I’ll be talking to you beforehand.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks John – I suppose most places sold things loose years ago, but I love the fact that there’s still a little of that left in Spain. I’m sure you’d love Barcelona and as Italian is very close to Spanish I’m sure you’d pick up the language easily 🙂

  7. Pingback: Can Vilaró | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

