El Setanta-Vuit

el setanta-vuit

el setanta-vuit

December 1st, 2015

I had to do some work for Adrian today, over in Poblenou (New Village) – this was once a village outside of Barcelona, which became the industrial zone (full of factories) during the Nineteenth Century. Since the Barcelona Olympics of 1992, the region has regenerated and empty factories have been turned into studios for artists, design companies, TV stations, theater companies, etc. We were over in this district a couple of nights ago, visiting a new micro brewery.

menú

menú

While the computers did a bit of crunching, we went out for lunch at El Setanta-Vuit (Seventy Eight), where they do a menú del dia for €12 – three courses including drink.

tortilla

tortilla

We stat down at a table by the window and before ordering, were presented with a little square of tortilla español as an amuse-bouche. This, IMHO, was a slice of perfect tortilla and came included in our €12 menú.

risoto de gambas

risoto de gambas

As a starter, I ordered a delicious risoto de gambas – prawn risotto

ensalada

ensalada

and Adrian had cogollos de todela – a salad of lettuce hearts.

cazuela de merluza

cazuela de merluza

Both of us chose cazuela de merluzahake casserole, as the main course. This contained a generous portion of hake, cooked with potato and tomatoes in a spicy pimentón sauce. I love hake, a neglected fish in England, but something that’s very popular in Barcelona and here it was done to perfection.

pastel

pastel

I had a sliver of pastel de fresa – strawberry tart, for pudding. This was just the right amount for me. As usual I drank rosado with my lunch.

carajillo de whisky

carajillo de whisky

To finish I had my usual pick up of a carajillo, but they’d run out of brandy, so I settled for whisky, which did the trick!

interior

interior

I was somewhat surprised at how spacious El Setanta-Vuit is – in the heart of Barcelona tables are pushed up quite close together – I suppose this is a reflection of lower building costs in Poblenou. The staff here were quite attentive (I noticed that all of them were youthful and definitely under 30) and the food was excellent! El Setanta-Vuit is in a shady street (you wouldn’t know that the sun was shining from the photo of the exterior), in the height of summer this is a great asset when eating outside.

El Setanta-Vuit is at: Carrer de Badajoz, 67, 08005 Barcelona.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to El Setanta-Vuit

  1. Eha says:

    Mad – Methinks I should begin anew on dreaming up my next trip north . . . besides Old Blighty had thought of a French river cruise, Carcassonne, Avignon, a sniff of Provence . . . would be wiser to plan a left turn ere arriving in Europe and homing right on Barcelona 🙂 ! Another more than pleasant meal – I would not call that tortilla an amuse-bouche tho’ !! And the cazuela looks great! But, carajillo surely one calls Irish coffee [ 🙂 !] tho’ I prefer cognac in my black coffee also] . . . thanks for lunch: I have to go cook mine now and chicken stirfry with sweet potatoes does not sound half as acceptable!!

  2. Sounds just divine – I love how you find all the best places to eat and the portions are a perfect size. Or maybe I have lived in America too long where i always have to ask for a half portion! c

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Cecilia – it seems to me that the menú del dia is becoming increasingly popular. I’ve noticed lately that there are more places doing them at the weekend, whereas traditionally it’s a week day inclusive lunch 🙂

  3. Wonderful! That tortilla looks so good and a shrimp risotto is the perfect combo of heavy and light. I imagine a carajillo would be just as good with whiskey. Happy New year md!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Amanda – there are some people who enjoy a carajillo with an aniseed spirit, but I think brandy’s my favourite. Happy New Year 🙂

  4. Sounds (looks) like some tasty business going on there!

  5. andreamynard says:

    What a tasty and amazing value lunch, sounds like a very civilised work trip!

  6. Raden says:

    good article, I really enjoyed it, thank you Maddog I am very impressed with your article.

  7. A gorgeous menu! I read somewhere that most of the hake fished by British fishermen goes to Spain where it is so appreciated. When you can get hold of it in England it’s so expensive!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Tanya. I know, it’s quite ridiculous! I noticed that Waitrose even sell hake from the south seas. Fortunately I live near Steve Hatt the fishmonger, who’ll sell a whole hake for £10 a kilo and sometimes Morrisons have it for a bit less than that 😉

  8. Top deal….I love this idea. In our area there is no question that the best menus are the “menu ouvrier” at the same 12€ for the 3 courses with addition of cheese. At the little Auberge St Catherine in the nearby village of Foussais- Payré they include a litre of wine!…unlike England, I’ve never seen more than a glass of wine drunk by the workmen at lunch:)

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Roger – I think the food is often fresher on these menús too, which is often why they sell out of some items. I believe that Franco copied the menú idea from the French, in order that impoverished workers had access to a proper, cheap, daily meal. At the time, restaurants were obliged to provide this and the menú has outlived the dictator 🙂

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I have got to stop reading these posts of yours on an empty stomach. That merluza is talking to me or maybe my hunger is making me delusional. Either way, that is one heckuva good lunch at an incredibly reasonable price. Well done, Mad!

  10. Your food photos and descriptions have made me feel quite peckish. The hake casserole looks really delicious. The price was so reasonable too.

  11. Karen says:

    I think I’ve mentioned before that I find it amazing that the menus of the day are priced so reasonably for what you get and so prettily presented.

Leave a Reply

