Joanet (2016)

joanet

joanet

I woke up and found myself in Barcelona …again! After pinched myself several times to make sure I wasn’t dreaming, I received a call from Nookie, asking me to meet her for lunch at Joanet.

I’ve covered Joanet a few times before, but not since 2013. It is an old school, Catalan restaurant in El Born (run by 3 generations of the same family) quite close to Santa Maria del Mar. The weekday lunchtime menu is still €11 for 3 courses with bread and wine or beer (there’s a €2 supplement for sitting outside). The restaurant is located in a quiet square and the food is great, so one must arrive by 1.30 or be prepared to wait for a table.

paella

paella

As a starter I ordered paella, which included clams, langoustine, mussels, prawns and chicken.

vegetable soup

vegetable soup

Nookie had a thick vegetable soup – note the drizzle of olive oil on top.

chuleta con gorgonzola

chuleta con gorgonzola

My main course was a thin cut pork chop in a Gorgonzola sauce, with chips. The bright yellow colour of the chips is down to using red potatoes. I first came across red Désirée Potatoes in Spain in the 1990s – they are excellent for chips and very good in tortillas.

asparagus

asparagus

Nookie ordered her favourite main course – grilled asparagus. This is fresh Spanish asparagus, in season now – a few months before the UK. I’d looked in at the Boqueria, on my way to Joanet and marveled at the amazing local spring vegetables on sale, such as artichokes, broad beans and tomatoes.

crema catalana

crema catalana

For pudding I had crema catalana – they do a very good one here.

mel i mató

mel i mató

Nookie had mel i mató, fresh cheese with honey drizzled on top.

vi negre

vi negre

They don’t do rosado here, so I had red wine, which is decanted from the barrel into a stoppered 500ml bottle and served chilled.

carajillo

carajillo

…and of course, I had a carajillo to keep me going through the afternoon!

The food, continues to be of a very high standard, the owners are charming and Joanet is still extremely popular. It’s nice to see that the only thing that has changed is the toilets, which have been renovated. The restaurant is closed on Thursdays and stays open in the evenings on Fridays and Saturdays.

Joanet is at: Plaça de Sant Agusti Vell, 6 , 08003, Barcelona

Other visits:

October 17th , 2011
April 22nd, 2012
October 7th, 2013

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Meat, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Joanet (2016)

  1. Eha says:

    Mad dearHeart – absolutely delightful, but, had I had the pleasure to accompany you, methinks we would have been very individualistic re the ordering! Paella for a first course and asparagus for a main . . . . *smile* well, if that is how you want to ‘space’ it . . . enjoy 😀 !!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Eha – paella is quite often served as a starter in Spain. Here it was listed on the menú del dia as a starter. I didn’t eat asparagus as a main course, that was Nookie’s choice and she often chooses to do that – it was not a main course option on the menú.

      • Eha says:

        Just back from my own lunch!! Have learnt something new again as have always been served paella as a main meal or have cooked it myself thus! Good to know and thanks 🙂 !

  2. Pingback: Joanet | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  3. Pingback: Joanet (revisited) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  4. Pingback: Joanet October 2013 | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  5. Paella as a starter is always a good thing. That cream Catalan looks so perfectly burnt. I did note the drizzle of olive oil in the soup. That’s how I like it. Wine, Barcelona, good food and company… Is there anything else?

  6. I love the asparagus – a perfect main course in my world! And now i am going to have a better look at the carajillo – the coyotes are close tonight – screaming their heads off right outside my window – it has taken me a while to write this comment with all the running outside with BooBo to shriek at them! Love love c

    • Eha says:

      Miss C: in most parts of Europe asparagus in springtime can be a main course, but with the tiniest baby potatoes in their skins and steamed and a protein like v finely sliced Westphalian ham . . . . sugar: cannot imagine having coyotes around the house . . . bestest and do write this up on the blog tomorrow please! Pats to Boo!!!!

    • Mad Dog says:

      It never lasts long enough in England.
      Perhaps those coyotes have been edging closer while the dog presence at the farmy was reduced. I’m sure Boo will enjoy barking at them. They’d get a shock if Sheila bit one 😉

  7. Michelle says:

    What a nice dream!

  8. Food heaven…. simple unpretentious… a lovely dream

  9. Nadia says:

    An amazing meal. I had no idea paella was served as a starter.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Nadia. Paella isn’t specifically a starter and can be served as a main course. I think small plates of paella and other rice dishes make for a convenient starter. The restauranteur can prepare a lot for a lunchtime sitting and it’s not normally served piping hot. They say it tastes best when warm. If one has paella as a main course, then normally the entire paella cooking vessel is put in the center of the table to share.

  10. Am smiling at the paella as a starter causing surprise. My English pals are always shocked when we go out for dinner and they can’t order it at night! Another stunning meal in Barcelona….lovely.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Ha ha – there a few other misconceptions besides. I think a lot of English people think that tapas are a meal or style of dining and that everything contains chorizo 😉

      • Big Man finds it funny that tapas restaurants here serve what are media raciones and bring them all at once like you’ve ordered a Chinese or Indian meal. Oh well, I have to put my hand up and say I didn’t really understand how tapas works until I lived in Spain!

        • Mad Dog says:

          It is odd, but Barcelona didn’t traditionally do tapas at all! Now there are places where they serve tapas in the English way, but no proper tapas bars like in Adalucia. I keep thinking that someone should open a bar and give away little pinchos – surely it would be very successful if jealous Catalans didn’t burn it down.
          I was lucky to have been taken to La Rueda in Clapham for my first tapas – it was very old school and you stood at the bar and received little plates, while drinking lots of beer or wine.

          • That was an old haunt of mine! Big Man and I say that if we were younger we’d start a couple of proper Spanish bars….am sure the concept of tapas, raciones and media raciones with little glasses of wine and cañas of beer would be a huge success!

          • Mad Dog says:

            I’d be very tempted myself. The other old school place I used to go to in the 80s was Galicia on Portobello Road – they did the best pulpo gallego. I think Spain was calling me for a quite a while before I got there 😉

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    You wake up and find yourself in Barcelona. I wake up and consider myself lucky if it’s the dog’s muzzle sharing my pillow and not … well … I think you’ve got the idea.
    This was another great meal, MD, and good to see that the restaurant hasn’t faltered since you last visited. That’s one family that knows what works and stays with it.

Leave a Reply

