La Esquina

la esquina

la esquina

Today we went to La Esquina for lunch, where Oli’s friend Alan Stewart is head chef. The restaurant is just above the Raval and almost alongside Plaça Cataluña.

la esquina menú

la esquina menú

La Esquina does an unusual set lunchtime menu, called a Menú Combi (see above) for €15.

menú combi

menú combi

The idea is that one orders a single meat or fish dish, along with two items from the rest of the menú combi – soup, salad, pasta or grain. These items come together on a single large plate.

creme de zanhoria

crema de zanhoria

We both ordered the same – crema de zanhoria, cilantro y pistachios – carrot soup with coriander and pistachios,

merluza y chipirones

merluza y chipirones

merluza, chipirones y salsa verdehake with baby squid and green sauce, plus the cebada perla, puerro, nueces, queso azul – pearl barley, leeks, walnuts and blue cheese (as per the combi picture).

pa amb oli

pa amb oli

As per a menú del dia, the Menú Combi includes bread, wine, beer or water, plus pudding and coffee. The bread was a superior sourdough and the oil and vinegar (on every Catalan restaurant table) here were exceptionally good.

vanilla cream

vanilla cream

We had vanilla cream for pudding – the cream sat on top of a meringue and the topping was a rhubarb jam.

interior

interior

The restaurant was busy and seemed very popular with young Catalans and their babies. Alan is hard at work plating up, on the right.

redbreast flake

redbreast flake

I was reminded of the Small Faces, when the bill arrived in an old Ogden’s tobacco tin.

The food and service here were excellent, but personally, I’d prefer to have the starter and main course separated. I wanted to eat the soup first, but it was obvious that it would stay hotter longer than the hake, so I ate the fish first.

La Esquina is at: C/ Bergara, 2, 08002 Barcelona

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to La Esquina

  1. Eha says:

    Have seen ordering thus on a few occasions, especially during lunchtime; Somewhat logical as far as service and crockery, and thus cost, is concerned, but agree with you I would rather have my ‘courses’ separate! That said, all of them seem on the superlative scale again: love the sound of the carrot soup [and, yes, I have looked it up 🙂 !]. The fish/squid dish and the barley one I know I would have appreciated . . . . altho’ have finished a more than adequate lunch must admit what you show us of Barcelona cuisine makes me want more, more, more . . . 😀 !!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks Eha, I’m really glad you are enjoying the Barcelona cuisine as much as I am. La Esquina opened recently, so I think they are trying out new things. I will have a look in a few months to see if the style of menu changes…

  2. Nadia says:

    An unusual idea to serve it all at once. Do you know if there is a particular reason for serving it that way? It did not delicious though.

  3. As with everyone else I agree it all looks wonderful but I’m an old fashioned Chica and enjoy my courses separately. Good luck to Ollie’s pal though for trying out news things. Reminds me though of a funny website a pal sends to me every so often called something like “we want plates” which mocks the fad of serving food on slates or planks and comes up with the weirdest photos of how some restaurants try to be innovative but fail spectacularly!

  4. Ruth says:

    Looks like s fine meal and the rhubarb on the vanilla cream a perfect finish.

  5. Todo con una pinta buenísima MD. Aunque yo, al igual que tu, prefiero que me traigan los platos por separado, así la comida y la sobremesa duran más. pero si es menú del medio día y para gente que trabaja y debe volver a la oficina, este formato es perfecto.
    Un abrazo
    G

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Another fantastic meal, though I agree. I hate it when they bring out more than one course together. The menu reminds me of a restaurant Zia and I found one night in Rome. We had intended to go to a place to which I’d enjoyed a wonderful meal but, as the taxi drove away, we saw that the place was closed. We were in Campo di Fiori where a restaurant is never more than a block away and we walked into a place that was really hopping. It turned out to be a favorite of the locals and the Maitre ‘d did his best to dissuade us “touriste” from eating there. Much like your menu, ours was on a white board and consisted of a choice of paste, a meat or fish for the secondi, and a choice of sides. Dessert and coffee were included and though I do not remember the price, it was dirt cheap and one of the best meals we had during that trip. I’ll be back in Rome next month and I plan of finding that place again.

    • Mad Dog says:

      Thanks John – I’d like all lunches to follow the rules laid down by Keith Waterhouse in “The Theory and Practice of Lunch.”
      I hope you have a wonderful time in Rome – I look forward to hearing about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

