Iposa (la fórmula)

bar iposa

bar iposa

I wrote a post on tapas in Iposa (at nighttime) about 5 years ago. It’s a small restaurant bar just behind the Boqueria, with a decent chef and menu, plus exceptionally charming staff. One evening, a few years ago, after visiting the Cavatast in Sant Sadurni, we stopped at Iposa for a glass of rosado on the way home. Our friendly waitress suggested that we buy a bottle, to save money, rather than a glass each, knowing that one is never enough. Oli asked what would happen to the bottle if we didn’t finish and our hostess said she’d get us a cork so we could take it home. We were sold and drank the bottle plus another glass each!

la fórmula

la fórmula

Iposa’s menú del dia is a formula neatly displayed on a blackboard outside. It works like this – you get soup for the first course, followed by two tapas (left) or one of the chef’s specials (right) for €9 including bread, a glass of wine or beer and a coffee.

sopa

sopa de verduras

The soup was thick vegetable and I almost thought chicken, but in actual fact it contained lots of sage, which I normally put inside a roast chicken and therefore associate the two flavours.

tartar de buey

tartar de buey

The tartar de buey (steak tartar) is excellent here – I’ve had it before. The tartar comes with a salad and lots of mustard, plus even more bread, which is from a good bakery. I’m with Anthony Bourdain, who believes in giving customers decent bread and not being mean about it – it makes us come back!

vi rosat

vi rosat

I had a second glass of the excellent local house rosado from the Penedès. If I remember correctly it cost an additional €2, which is very reasonable.

carajillo

carajillo

The addition of brandy to my coffee (a carajillo, to toast Amanda) was on the house.

I sat at a barrel – left in the top photograph. There are three additional tables outside and opposite the restaurant. Inside there’s seating for about 30 people. We come here a lot and recommend it without reservation.

Iposa is at: C/ Floristes de la Rambla 14, 08001 Barcelona

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Food, Meat, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Iposa (la fórmula)

  1. Beautiful food and wine and I am wondering about your sage in the roast chicken – is this with the bread and balsamic, maybe a little fatty bacon? One day if you have time you can post your roast chicken – i have LOTS of sage! c

  2. Thanks for the toast, MD! Ill take a carajillo any day. You’re building such a precious guide to Spain. That wine and the tartar de buey are right up my alley. I agree with bourdaine too. Bring on the bread. And get me back to Barcelona! Salud, MD! All the best.

  3. Nadia says:

    I agree with Anthony as well. Although I do not eat much bread, my husband makes up for me there, I like it to be really good and fresh and crusty and chewy – yum!

  4. Eha says:

    Hope you did sleep well whilst we were ‘chattering’!! Another for the books, OK, am totally unfair but give me a real, fresh steak tartare well and expertly mixed and I am yours forever!! [No comment 🙂 !]

  5. And I’m so in agreement about the bread!

  6. Pingback: El Museu de l’Embotit | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  7. Pingback: Flor de Maig | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

