Quinua

quinua

quinua

Today we had lunch at Quinua with Adrian in Poblenou. Quinua is Spanish for Quinoa, the popular gluten free grain which is grown in the Andes. They describe their food as traditional and fusion.

quinua interior

quinua interior

The restaurant is just off the Rambla de Poblenou and 5 minutes from the beach. It’s also just opposite Vell Poblenou, which similarly does a great menú del día. The layout is typical of a small Spanish restaurant – a window and door at the front with very little other daylight – this keeps the place cooler on a hot summer’s day. The kitchen and bar are at the back on the left. Quinua has about 11 tables inside and another 5 or 6 in the secluded courtyard at the rear.

quinua menu

quinua menu

As you can see above, the lunchtime menú is very good value and includes starter, main, pudding, bread and a drink for €11. I believe this establishment is run by a husband and wife team – he cooks and she serves the customers. I noticed a new family addition (to the side at the back), watching it’s mum and dad attending to the diners – I saw a couple of high chairs tucked away in a corner, so I believe it’s a family orientated locale (quite common in Spain).

arroz meloso

arroz meloso

We ordered the same starters and mains, commencing with a delicious arroz meloso con frutos del mar – a sticky rice (not unlike risotto) with fruits of the sea.

atún en lalaki

atún en lalaki

The main course was atún en lalaki con ensalada – a beautiful piece of seared tuna marinated in (I believe) fermented coconut sap (or sugar cane) with salad. I ordered mine pink in the middle.

crema catalana

crema catalana

For pudding I had my favourite, crema catalana – the Catalan equivalent of crème brûlée, containing orange or lemon zest and cinnamon. Like Trinity burnt cream, crema catalana is traditionally branded to burn the sugar and not heated with a blow torch.

rosado

rosado

I drank vi rosat with my lunch, while the others had beer.

carajillo

carajillo

As usual, I finished my meal with a carajillo de cognac.

Quinua is at: C/Taulat 42, Poblenou, 08005, Barcelona.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Quinua

  1. how do they brand the sugar? I would like to try and make a creme brulee while i am still milking but I don’t have a blow torch.. and also what does fusion mean when it relates to a restaurant – i have seen this before.. This place has lovely clean lines, going out to eat in a family run establishment is such a treat. c

    • Mad Dog says:

      Great questions! The brand used for crema Catalana or Trinity burnt cream is a piece of metal (presumably cast iron), slightly smaller than the bowl/dish containing the pudding. It’s heated until it glows and then is placed on the sugar, like branding a cow, albeit briefly. However, you can do this under the grill. Move it around if it’s not burning evenly. I had another really good one tonight at Romesco and will publish that in due course.
      Fusion means combination of food styles, like Spanish Japanese, which is quite common here presently.

  2. Eha says:

    Well, if I had the wonderful opportunity to ever have a meal with you I could probably guess the dessert and afters 🙂 ! When I saw the title I did wonder whether you just could have misplaced a few letters: quinoa being probably my favourite grain for a decade of more . . . no, a more delightful result! Like both the first dishes, but especially the tuna marinade: quite new!!

  3. This place seems very modern both a not toward the traditional. I love that you got your crema Catalan and the carajillo. I love tuna as rare as possible. This seems like a good regular lunch time rotation. Glad you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

