Romesco – October 2016

romesco

romesco

Back again in Barcelona, for a Catalan wedding, I had to go to Romesco, my favourite  nighttime restaurant. This place is literally, as cheap as chips, but very good with it. I have been coming here since 1991 and almost nothing has changed in all that time. The camarero and kitchen staff are the same friendly faces and have hardly aged one bit in 25 years! Romesco has a single window and door at the front which leads into the bar and open kitchen. The window itself is a glass fronted fridge, which displays today’s specials. Beyond the bar is the seating area, which is generally full.

croquetas

croquetas

We ordered croquetas to start – they are particularly good here, crunchy on the outside and soft and fluffy inside. Ordering allioli on the side is almost obligatory.

bacalao a a llauna

bacalao a la llauna

As a main course I had bacalao a la llauna – this is salt cod cooked on the tin. It’s a Catalan dish of desalted cod, floured, browned and then baked in the oven, with garlic, pimentón, white wine and parsley. Traditionally this was cooked in a tin tray, hence, “on the tin.” Mine was served with boiled potatoes and they generously gave me two large pieces! I particularly recommend eating this here.

patitas de calamar

patitas de calamar

Oli had patitas de calamar en salsa con patatas fritas – squid legs in a rich savoury sauce with fried potatoes. The squid was quite tender and the sauce was delicious.

vi rosat

vi rosat

We drank the house rosado with dinner – I noticed on the bill that it cost €4.70 for the whole bottle!

crema catalana

crema catalana

For pudding I had crema catalana (surprise surprise).

flan

flan

Oli ordered flan.

carajillo

carajillo

…and of course, I had a carajillo for courage, at the end. I raised my glass to toast Amanda with this one.

Romesco offers great food at a friendly price – the bill for two of us (including a large bottle of fizzy water) came to €29!

Romesco is at: Carrer de Sant Pau, 28, 08001, Barcelona

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Barcelona Bars and Restaurants, Drink, Eating Out, Fish, Food, Restaurants, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Romesco – October 2016

  1. Eha says:

    After a horrendous day trying to get my mailbox working [THAT may take another week!] it is such a pleasure to see you ordering exactly what I would have thought you would at one of your favourite places!! If we ever get to have a meal together in Gaudi’s city, methinks I would just say ‘I’m having what he is’ and that is not me at all 🙂 !!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Eha – I hope you mailbox problem goes away soon. I have to confess that I almost ordered the squid legs, or merluza, but it’s so cheap in Romesco that one could almost order two main courses! The wonderful smell of cod and garlic got me in the end though 🙂

  2. Awww. Thanks, MD! Looks like a great meal. Greatest hits. I hope the wedding was wonderful. I’ll have a chance to raise a carajillo right back at you in mexico these next few days. Those Barcelona meals make me jealous though! Have a great weekend! Thanks for the shout out!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Amanda – I’m a bit jealous of you too! I’ve never been to Mexico and would love to experience it first hand. I hope you have a good trip, with not too much work 🙂

  3. Nadia says:

    Can’t beat that for great value!

  4. Croquetas…my favourite! Looks like you had a good time 😀 Big Man is off to Spain in an hour or so for a couple of weeks and has already decided what he’s having for dinner tonight at our local place (solomillo a la plancha)!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Hi Tanya – I could eat croquetas every day, especially with allioli! I think I was probably thinking along similar lines to Big Man. The first thing I want to do when the plane lands is go and have supper is Romesco 🙂

  5. Ruth says:

    May I please have the Crema Catalana? Mmmm

  6. Karen says:

    Cheap as chips…you always manage to find all the good ones. 🙂

  7. Pingback: L’Antic Forn (the old bakery) | Mad Dog TV Dinners

  8. Pingback: Romesco | Mad Dog TV Dinners

Leave a Reply

