Big Breakfast

sunshine breakfast

good morning mr. breakfast

We managed to get through quite a few bottles of rosado and cava last night, not to mention the London No. 1 Gin at 47º proof. However, this morning there were still at least 24 cans of beer in the bar fridge, a bottle of Jägermeister  and copious quantities of food in the regular fridge!

I’d managed to forget the bacon to wrap the monkfish tails and we’d bought morcilla to go with the scallops, they were still uncooked and chilling too. There were also a few leftover cooked monkfish tails and galtas. I believe I even saw a couple of park chops lurking at the back…

Since we were a little tired from last night’s barbecue festivities a fry up seemed in order. I had to nip down to the Boqueria for some Spanish foods to take back to London, so I got six eggs while I was out. I also popped into La Fuente on Carrer de Ferran (a shop we used to refer to as the Tin Shop, due to the windows being full, top to bottom with tins and bottles), to see if they had any gourmet tinned sardines. Sadly they didn’t, but I did spot a can of Heinz Baked Beans, staple of the English breakfast. I tried to resist but they were calling to me.

Back at the flat, Oli cooked up a stunning breakfast – I was glad to see he’d made a Thames Barrier with the black pudding and bacon to keep the eggs safe from the beans – IMHO the two should never meet!

I’m reminded of my flatmate Toni, back in 1991, who cooked a plate of fried egg and chips and said proudly, “This is typical Spanish food, what do you have in England that is typical?” He seemed incredulous that we ate the same.

About Mad Dog

https://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Drink, Fish, Food, Meat, Shopping, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Big Breakfast

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    It isn’t a party until half a bottle of Jägermeister has been emptied. You’ll need a breakfast, like that for an antidote. 🙂

  2. Sorry to have missed your Barcelona trip. When I have time, next week, I’ll go back over the previous posts. Fry ups bring back memories, but they could easily bring something else up this morning:)

  3. Eha says:

    Just do NOT talk to me of Jägermeister. please! That one is wicked!!!! Personally I do not need any ‘barriers’ o’wise! Lovingly segueing into the night before . . .

  4. Good breakfast! Perhaps I should pull out the bacon this morning and do it American style…never did understand the Heinz baked bean thing, but I very much get sausage…pretty much and and all sausage, actually. Fun post!

  5. musingmar says:

    That black pudding looks so good. My Mom used to make it when I was a young child, but she quite straightforwardly called it blood sausage. Didn’t bother me a bit although my own children fall into spasms of disgust at the name and certainly would never let it pass their lips. I haven’t had it in decades, probably not since I was ten, and am not even sure where I’d find it here. But now I have a hankering …

  6. A perfect Spanglish breakfast! The best 🙂 As for that Jägermeister … it’s dangerous stuff and in my experience leads to people behaving in very un-grown-up like manner!

  7. Amanda says:

    Yes please. Morcilla and cava followed by food to prevent a “resaca”. Muy bien jugado.

  8. Karen says:

    Good sounding breakfast. I need a barrier for my eggs as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

